Breckenridge holding off on move to MSAC

By Chip Burch • Last Updated 9:37 am on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

BRECKENRIDGE — The Mid-State Activities Conference won’t be expanding just yet.

Breckenridge, who decided to explore possibly moving from the Tri-Valley Conference West Division to the MSAC, will be waiting to make a decision, according to Superintendent Sean McNatt.

“We created a group of diversified individuals including parents coaches, the athletic director and citizens to examine the data to see how the TVC and MSAC compare,” McNatt said. “Right now we’re going to wait to see how the TVC is going to make changes.”

McNatt said the 23-school TVC may be adding a school in the East Division, which is the only one of the three divisions in the TVC with seven schools.

“For the most part we have three divisions of eight schools each, with the exception of the East, which has seven,” McNatt said. “All the schools are in the East are Class B schools and the Central are Class B schools. The schools in the West, there is one Class B school and the rest are Class C. There’s a couple of different things we’re looking at including who the 24th school would be.”

Because of the possibility of expansion in the TVC, Breckenridge will wait until they see what expansion proposals are, along with possible realignment. McNatt mentioned the TVC may go to four divisions.

“We’re talking about the geographics of the divisions and what sports the schools offer,” he said, noting there are just two divisions of the TVC for soccer. “It will be interesting to see what the proposals come back.”

But the MSAC is not completely shut out of the picture yet, McNatt said.

“The invitation of the MSAC is out there for us, but we’ll be waiting until the TVC proposals,” he said. “We’ll reconvene in late March to sometime in April.”

The committee to study switching to the MSAC was formed in December. Current full-time members of the MSAC are Ashley, Coleman, Montabella, Mount Pleasant Sacred Heart and Vestaburg. Carson City-Crystal will join full-time in the 2012-2013 school year.

Breckenridge is joined by Ithaca, St. Louis, Merrill, St. Charles, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary, Saginaw Valley Lutheran and Carrollton in the TVC-West.

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)