Crystal racers take advantage of good weather

By Daily News • Last Updated 10:42 am on Wednesday, June 13, 2012

By Trevor Hollis

CRYSTAL — Saturday’s weather was warm and dry, giving racers at Crystal Motor Speedway a fast track to take advantage of.

The street stocks kicked the night off with a couple of heats. The first of them would see Kyle Prochazka in victory lane over Chris Wiggins and Bill Wilkins Jr.

Heat two would go to Doug Helsel and second would be Doug McKeown Sr.

At feature time, it was the Doug McKeown Sr. show until a caution for Wilkins bunched the field up.

Another late race caution involving Austin Wiley, Taylor Daniels and Kevin Lipp allowed the field to get right back into contention but in the end it was rookie Brenten DeYoung picking up his first feature win.

In late model action, Eric Monk was able to hold off Bob Finlay and Dean Huizenga in the first heat and in the second heat it was Tom Dusen, Tim Stott, and Matt Pickard.

The event saw major problems for points leader Scott Baker as he did not finish the heat and was not able to make the call for the 30-lap feature. As that feature took to the track, it was Stott and Monk making up the front row.

Stott took the early lead and was able to hold on despite an unusually large number of cautions. The win is Stott’s first of the season while Carl Ries was able to hold on for second and Pickard was third.

In the first of two Flinn stock heats, Taylor Wiles jumped out front and never looked back. Chancy Baxter and Lee Zahm rounded out the top three.

In the second heat Jeff Dygert was able to make it to victory lane over Scott Glidden and Jerrud Stout. Wiles picked up the victory in the feature race over Glidden and Zahm.

Twenty-four IMCA modifieds made the trip to the Crystal Motor Speedway. In heat one, it was Brennen Hunt coming home victorious over Bob Hutson and Greg Wiles.

In the second of three heats, Brody Bowser held off Jerry Hunt and Josh Borton while in the final heat it was Tim Tuttle holding on over Myron DeYoung and Robert Putt.

Glenn Moon and Milt Montgomery started on the front row of the B main but it was Moon picking up the victory.

When it was feature time, the field clicked off 14 strait green flag laps before Lytle brought out the first caution which bunched the field up behind race leader Hunt. Hunt was able to hold on for the final six laps over Borton and Hutson.

In truck action the first of two heats saw Don Prout II in victory lane over Dave Peters and Carl Thayer. In heat two, Gavin Parks found himself victorious over points leader Ashlee Scott and Chris Decamp.

In the A Main feature, Scott started in the rear but with only five laps to go, she was able to get around Parks and cruise on to victory. Parks and Tim Wood would round out the top three.

Don Rohn started the pro stock heat portion of the night off with a win over Ryan Kent and Chaney Newland and in the second heat it was Court Skoog picking up the checkered flag over Vern Buskirk and Chad Raby.

The feature race was the last feature of the night with Court Skoog and Todd Bush starting on the front row. It took only about ten laps for Raby to take over the top spot and he never looked back.

Raby was able to hold on for the rest of the 25 lap feature event over Rohn and Buskirk.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is a full night of racing with all six divisions on hand for the night.

A special event is the “Twin Flinn” event where the track is divided into a “lower groove” and an “upper groove” and they run two separate races at the same time, going in opposite directions.

Pit gates open 4:30 and the main gates open about 5 p.m. Racing starts at 7:30.

Further information can be obtained by calling the track office at (989) 235-5200 or visiting the website at

Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)