Crystal Motor Speedway results for June 2 and June 9

By Daily News • Last Updated 2:24 pm on Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Taylor Wiles won the Races On The Web Flinn Stock features on June 2 and June 9. — Courtesy photo

June 2 results

CRYSTAL TOWNSHIP — Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway was a cool spring evening that followed a very damp afternoon, but the track was able to duck showers that went to either side of it.

A field of 138 cars were on hand to race with the event sponsored by the Six Lakes NAPA Auto Parts. The MOROA Outlaw Sprints were on hand with Doug Rousch winning over Ryan Recklow and Luke Strong. Nate Jones won the heat.

Taylor Wiles continued his winning ways as he pocketed the Races On The Web Flinn Stock feature over Scott Glidden, Bree Brasington, Chancey Baxter, Felicia Rohn, Tyson Minier, Ashley Wilkins, Samantha Klaus, Shane Wiggins, and Meghan Chapko. Glidden and Wiles took heat wins. Glidden holds a 12 point lead in the division over  Alex Richards.

Roger Wing came on strong in the closing laps to overtake Jay Van Dyke with two to go to claim the Kentucky Fried Chicken Late Model feature. Scott Baker was third, followed by Kyle Borgman, Keith Gentz, Matt Pickard, Tom Dusen, Dean Huizenga, Rob Taylor, and Joshua Knoll. Bryant Dickinson moved into the main feature via his B Main win with heats going to Wing, Van Dyke, and Bill Beardslee. Baker leads the division by seven points over Pickard.

The PRW USA IMCA Modified feature went to Josh Borton who outlasted Chad Wernette, Tim Tuttle, Joe Fowler, Myron DeYoung, Paul Grosnickle, Robert Hutson, Greg Wiles, Chad Maurer, and Rusty Zeigler. B Mains fell to Maurer and Johnny DeYoung Jr. and heats were taken by Myron DeYoung, Ken Zeigler, Borton, and Fowler. Wernette holds a 24 point lead over Hutson in the season points to date.

The Port City Racing Pro Stock feature was a rowdy event with Chaney Newland coming out on top with Cortland Skoog tight behind. Don Rohn, Todd Bush, Vern Buskirk, Mike Husted, Barry Rinard, Rodney Heikkila, Jacob Headley, and Ryan Kent rounded out the top ten. Reb Marble and Jeramie Raby went home with heat gold. Newland holds a 13 point lead over Buskirk for the season so far.

Gaven Parks has led a lot of laps in the Engine Pro Pro Truck races this season, but this time he was able to fend off charges from  Kevin Deal to finally pocket his first 2012 feature win in an extremely competitive division. Ashlee Scott, Don Prout, Richard Melton, Chris DeCamp, Tim Sooy, Garrett Wiles, Ryan Paradise, and Robert Griffin made up the remainder of the top 10. Prout and Parks had taken heats earlier in the night. Scott leads the division with a 26 point lead over Tim Wood.

David Grega bagged his second feature win in 2012 in an exciting race over James Prochazka, Brenten DeYoung, Andrew Fidler, Dennis Parker, William Wilkins, Jr., Chance Allen, Taylor Daniels, Chris Wiggins, and Jamie Fancett. Kevin Rohn and Fidler took heats. JR Schmid holds a narrow two point lead over Wiggins.


June 9 results

CRYSTAL TOWNSHIP — Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway, Mother Nature again gave us perfect weather and fan and drivers agreed. The night was sponsored by the Living Word Bible Church.

The Smokers Club Street Stocks kicked the night off with a couple of heats. The first of them would see Kyle Prochazka in victory lane over Chris Wiggins and Bill Wilkins Jr. Heat two would go to Doug Helsel. Second would be Doug McKeown Sr. At feature time,  the green flag flew over the field for the 15 lap. It was the Doug McKeown Sr. show until a caution for Bill Wilkins bunched the field up. Another late race caution involving Austin Wiley, Taylor Daniels and Kevin Lipp allowed the field to get right back into contention but in the end it was rookie Brenten DeYoung picking up his first feature win.

In Kentucky Fried Chicken Late Model action, Eric Monk was able to hold off Bob Finlay and Dean Huizenga in the first heat and in the second heat it was Tom Dusen, Tim Stott, and Matt Pickard. The event saw major problems for point’s leader Scott Baker as he did not finish the heat and was not able to make the call for the 30 lap feature. As that feature took to the track, it was Stott and Monk making up the front row. Stott took the early lead and was able to hold on despite an unusually large number of cautions. The win is Stott’s first of the season while Carl Ries was able to hold on for second and Matt Pickard was third.

In the first of two Races On The Web Flinn Stock heats, Taylor Wiles jumped out front and never looked back. Chancy Baxter and Lee Zahm rounded out the top three. In the second heat Jeff Dygert was able to make it to victory lane over Scott Glidden and Jerrud Stout. Fifteen laps was the distance for the feature and once again it was the Taylor Wiles show. Wiles picked up the victory over Scott Glidden and Lee Zahm.

Twenty-four PRW IMCA Modifieds made the trip to the Crystal Motor Speedway. In heat one, it was Brennen Hunt coming home victorious over Bob Hutson and Greg Wiles. In the second of three heats, Brody Bowser held off Jerry Hunt and Josh Borton while in the final heat it was Tim Tuttle holding on over Myron DeYoung and Robert Putt. Glenn Moon and Milt Montgomery started on the front row of the B main, but it was Moon picking up the victory. When it was feature time, the field clicked off 14 strait green flag laps before the XL machine of Tim Lytle brought out the first caution which bunched the field up behind race leader Jerry Hunt. Hunt was able to hold on for the final six laps over Borton and Hutson.

In Engine Pro Pro Truck action the first of two heats saw Don Prout II in victory lane over Dave Peters and Carl Thayer. In heat two, Gavin Parks found himself victorious over points leader Ashlee Scott and Chris Decamp. In the A Main feature, Scott started in the rear but with only five laps to go, she was able to get around leader Parks and cruise on to victory. Parks and Tim Wood would round out the top three.

Don Rohn started the Port City Pro Stock heat portion of the night off with a win over Ryan Kent and Chaney Newland and in the second heat it was Court Skoog picking up the checkered flag over Vern Buskirk and Chad Raby. The Pro Stock feature was the last feature of the night with Court Skoog and Todd Bush were starting on the front row. It took only about ten laps for Raby to take over the top spot and he never looked back. Raby was able to hold on for the rest of the 25 lap feature event over Rohn and Buskirk.

Next week at Crystal Motor Speedway is a full night of racing with all six divisions on hand for the night. A special event is the “Twin Flinn” event where the track is divided into a ‘lower groove’ and an ‘upper groove’ and they run two separate races at the same time, going in opposite directions. It is as exciting as it sounds and is not one to be missed! The evening will be sponsored by Crystal Micro Systems.

Pit gates open 4:30 p.m. and the main gates open about 5 p.m. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m. Further information can be obtained by calling the track office at (989) 235-5200 or visiting

Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)