Crystal Motor Speedway hosts double the action

By Daily News • Last Updated 9:23 am on Monday, July 09, 2012

The Fourth of July holiday has always made Crystal Motor Speedway a very busy place and this Independence Day was no different. Fresh off a race June 30th, racers and fans gathered again at the speedway on the eve of the national holiday and then again on Saturday a mere four days later.

The Tuesday night affair was sponsored by Anderson Contracting and Renovations and the fireworks provided by Trident Pyrotechnics weren’t the only sparks to be seen. In the Races On The Web Flinn Stocks, Chancey Baxter caught fire and quickly became a large fireball, but quick work by the track safety team put out the flames and Baxter escaped unharmed. Chad Tomczak bagged his first feature win, followed by Jaycee Baker, Johnny Miller, Kyle Woodward, and Andrew Weber. Tomczak and Scott Glidden won heats.

Dean Huizenga got out to an early lead and held off Carl Ries to take his first 2012 win in the Kentucky Fried Chicken Late Model event. Justin Robinson grabbed third and was followed by Matt Pickard and Scott Baker. Jay Van Dyke and Kurt Mesman took heats.

Brody Bowser made it two in a row as he roared to victory in the PRW USA IMCA Modified feature over Josh Borton, Chad Wernette, Robert Hutson, and Milt Montgomery. B Mains fell to Montgomery and Jerry Hunt while Dan Wiggins II, Wernette, and Bowser posed for heat wins.

Port City Racing Pro Stock action saw Chaney Newland pad his points lead and his career stats with yet another win over Josh Loomis, Vern Buskirk, Barry Rinard, and Jeramie Raby. Loomis and Chad Raby took heat gold.
David Dancer scored the win in the Engine Pro Pro Truck feature over Ashlee Scott, Ryan Paradise, Brad Roberts, and Dave Peters. Dancer and Ryan Paradise triumphed in the heat races.

Finally, Bill Wilkins, Jr. won a hard fought win over David Grega in the Smokers Club of Mt. Pleasant Street Stock event. Doug McKeown, Sr. notched a third, followed by James Prochazka, and Brenten DeYoung. Prochazka and McKeown went home with heat wins.

Saturday night action was almost as hot as the temps had been all week and was sponsored by the Ionia Bowl 300. Chris Brown got his first feature win of 2012 in the Races On The Web Flinn Stock feature over Alex Richards, Cody Everingham, Chancey Baxter and Bree Brasington. Scott Glidden and Brown came out on top in the heats.

Michigan Motor Sport Hall of Fame driver Roger Wing came charging from deep in the field to win over Scott Philips, Scott Baker, Bryant Dickinson, and Dean Huizenga in the KFC Late Model feature. Jason Borton and Eric Monk took heats.
An early pile up slowed Brody Bowser, winner of the previous two PRW USA IMCA Modified features and Milt Montgomery took full advantage of that as he came home with the win over Dan Minikey Jr., Myron DeYoung, Josh Borton, and Chad Wernette. Chad Maurer walked away with the B Main feature while heats were taken by Minikey, Bowser, and Paul Grosnickle.

Josh Loomis had taken second in the Tuesday running of the Port City Racing Pro Stocks and on Saturday he moved up one position to take his first 2012 feature over Barry Rinard, Don Rohn, Ryan Kent, and Vern Buskirk. Gordie Snyder and Jeremie Raby went to the winners circle in Pro Stock heats.

Brad Roberts made an impressive return to racing in his second appearance in the Engine Pro Pro Trucks, winning over David Dancer, Gaven Parks, Dave Peters, and Mike Seaman. Roberts and Ryan Paradise scored heat wins.
Finally, Doug McKeown, Sr. had come oh so close to a feature win in 2012 and finally bagged the big one in the Smokers Club of Mt. Pleasant Street Stock feature over David Grega, Andrew Fidler, Kyle Prochazka, and Doug Helsel. Shane Spencer and McKeown grabbed heat wins.

Next Saturday night at Crystal Motor Speedway is a regular night of all six divisions, sponsored Praxair Supply of Grand Rapids. Adult admission to the grandstands is $10 and kids 5 to 11 are $4. Pit passes are $25. Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and grand stand gates open at 5 p.m.. Further information can be obtained by calling the track office at (989) 235-5200 or visiting the website at

Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)