Anderson, Insley retain school board positions in Belding; Vestaburg, CC-C, Montabella, Tri County elect board members

By Cory Smith • Last Updated 10:49 am on Thursday, November 08, 2012

BELDING — After a long night of waiting for election results to trickle in throughout Ionia County, a close race for two spots on the Belding Area Schools Board of Education came to an end in favor of two incumbents.

Robert Insley of Belding and Cori Anderson of Otisco Township defeated challengers Thomas Cameron of Belding and Jennifer Boroff of Otisco Township to retain their positions on the board.

Insley received 2,162 votes (32 percent), Anderson 1,638 (24 percent) Cameron 1,577 (23 percent) and Boroff 1,452 (21 percent) of 6,857 votes that were cast Tuesday from nine precincts.

Anderson was appointed to the board after Byron Davey retired in 2011.

“I’m very happy that I have the opportunity to serve the community, because that’s the whole reason I was doing this,” Anderson said. “I am very pleased to have the opportunity to continue on. I felt I was just starting to understand the process and I didn’t want to be done after 11 months.

Insley said he was glad to be elected to another term.

“It was good to have four qualified candidates running for the board giving people a choice in this election and I am thankful to have the opportunity to serve another term,” Insley said. “It is an exciting time to be part of the Belding Area Schools and I look forward to the next 4 years.”

In other area school board races:

• Randy Stearns received 1,475 votes to defeat Diane Demenov who received 934 votes in a nine-precinct race for the Carson City-Crystal Area Schools Board of Education.

• Scott Parks received 879 votes to defeat Bill Burggren who received 875 votes and Don Havlicek who received 437 votes in an 11-precinct race for the Montabella Community Schools Board of Education.

• Janice Dewey received 2,179 votes to defeat Carrine Paulen who received 1,744 votes in a 10-precinct race for the Tri County Area Schools Board of Education.

• Lynn Van Sickler received 661 votes and David Freeman received 609 votes to defeat Brian Zinn who received 568 votes and Nicole Gorsuch who received 553 votes for a four-precinct race for two seats on the Vestaburg Community Schools Board of Education.

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)