No. 9 CC-Crystal finishes No. 8 Montabella for district title

By Chip Burch • Last Updated 9:50 am on Friday, February 08, 2013

Carson City-Crystal’s Alex Baker, top, tries to finish an inside cradle on Montabella’s Nick Boyer during the finals of the Division 4 district Thursday night.

MIDDLETON ­— Carson City-Crystal and Montabella had dueled all season for dominance over the other.

The score was finally settled Thursday night at the Division 4 district tournament, where the Eagles beat the Mustangs in the finals 34-30.

The meet was back and forth throughout, and both CC-Crystal coach Kacy Datema and Montabella coach Shaun Balhorn knew it would come down to “bonus points” — points scored above the three that comes from a win.

“We kept bonus points down to a minimum,” Datema said. “Our kids go six minutes and they were tough, they wrestled tough (Thursday).

“There were a lot of things that didn’t go well for us,” Balhorn said. “We needed some pins that we didn’t get.”

After the Mustangs (27-5) beat Fulton 59-18 in the semifinal, CC-Crystal (24-6), ranked eighth in the state in Division 4 by the Michigan Wrestling Association, jumped on eighth-ranked Montabella early, getting a pin from Dakota O’Green, a forfeit, a technical fall and a decision for a 20-9 lead after six matches.

“We knew that coming around the corner we had (10)3, (1)12 and (1)19,” Datema said. “And then from (1)25-(1)40 that’s when their (Montabella’s) kids would make their run. We kept them to three points in each match.”

Montabella’s Zach Taubitz, top, tries to roll Carson City-Crystal’s Garner Cusack during the finals of the Division 4 district Thursday night.

But both coaches knew the big match that would help determine the winner would be whoever won the 135-pound class between Eagle junior Garner Cusack and Mustang sophomore Zack Taubitz. Cusack got a reversal in the third period to win 3-2.

“Cusack had the swing match that he won and swung it our way,” Datema said. “Big, important match. After that we wrestled our horses all the way out.”

“There’s two good kids right there wrestling,” Balhorn said. “It’s a swing match either way. I’m sure they (CC-Crystal) had it planned to win and we had it hoped to win. They’ll see each other again on Saturday (for individual districts) I’m sure.”

Dalton Kuklewski got Montabella back to within two with a pin in the 140-pound bout, but a technical fall by Dillan Decker and a pin by Darren Decker sealed the match.

“We did well,” Datema said. “We did everything we were supposed to do and better.”

Datema gave the Mustangs a lot of credit.

“They’re a great team. Still a great team,” he said of Montabella. “Four points this time, six points last time, beat us in the conference, they’re definitely a good team.”

The dual-meet portion of the season is over for the Mustangs.

“It’s stinks to have the season end like this because my kids had a really good season, they worked very hard, but Carson came out on top (Thursday night),” Balhorn said. “That’s why you wrestle in high school sports.”

The Eagles, meanwhile, will head to the Mustangs’ gym for regionals next Wednesday. They will face the winner of the Dansville district in the first round.

Montabella 59, Fulton 18
171 – Josh Schafer, F, pinned John Donnelly, 0:34.
189 – Jonny Durham, M, pinned Kadin Canfielkd, 0:30.
215 – L.D. Lapham, M, pinned Michael Gingrich, 0:31.
285 – Hunter Myers, M, pinned Tracy Bearden, 1:52.
103 – (double void)
112 – Trevor Hilgendorf, F, pinned Nick Boyer, 1:49.
119 – Dustin Scott, M, pinned Alex Price, 5:44.
125 – Quinn Stradtner, M, pinned Zane Curtis, 0:29.
130 – Tristan Viglianco, M, def. Tom Browne 18-2.
135 – Clint Kubiak, M, pinned Nate Miller, 4:22.
140 – Zach Taubitz, M, pinned Bohdan Hartman, 0:59
145 – Mike Hyde, M, pinned John Vusich, 3:04.
152 – Joey Durham, M, won by forfeit.
160 – Logan Burns, M, pinned Nick Simon, 0:34.

CC-Crystal 34, Montabella 30
189 – Dakota O’Green, C, pinned L.D. Lapham, 5:58.
215 – Jonny Durham, M, pinned Austin Hopkins, 0:28.
285 – Dan Davidson, M, def. Brad Austerman 2-1.
103 – Taylor Barkley, C, won by forfeit.
112 – Alex Baker, M, def. Nick Boyer 18-2.
119 – Ken Ditternber, C, def. Dustin Scott 11-5.
125 – Tristan Viglianco, M, def. Dallas O’Green 4-2.
130 – Quinn Stradtner, M, def. Kevin Rogers 8-6.
135 – Garner Cusack, C, def. Zach Taubitz 3-2.
140 – Dalton Kuklewski, M, pinned Luman Groce, 5:31.
145 – Dillan Decker, C, def. Mike Hyde 16-1.
152 – Joey Durham, M, def. Lincoln, Burnham 7-2.
160 – Darrin Decker, C, pinned Gerardo Nemetz, 1:07.
171 – Logan Burns, M, won by forfeit.

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)