Lakeview boys get three on CSAA league team

By Bruce Bentley • Last Updated 9:28 am on Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Lakeview junior Shawn Lindsey goes finishes a breakaway with an easy layup during a game this season.

Lakeview Wildcats junior Shawn Lindsey was named to the All-CSAA boys basketball first team for his play this year.

Lindsey leads three Wildcats on the postseason team, while one Central Montcalm Hornet earned honors, as well.

Nate Shurlow was named to the second team and John Torres an honorable mention for the Wildcats. Trevin Nemeth was honorable mention for the Hornets.

Lindsey, a junior forward, averaged 13 points, nearly seven rebounds and 2.3 steals per game this season, while leading a young Wildcats team to a 14-7 overall record.

“Shawn could breakdown team’s defenses from many levels,” Lakeview coach Mike Schreiber said. “He was our top three-point shooter and led our team both verbally and emotionally on both ends of the court.”

He drained 45 three-pointers this year and shot 41 percent from beyond the arc.

Shurlow, a sophomore point guard, did a little bit of everything on the court.

“Nate was our Mr. Everything when it came to offense,” Schreiber said. “He broke opponents’ passes, after starting the offense he become our best post player both underneath and at the high post.”

Shurlow averaged 10.8 points per game, grabbed 101 rebounds (35 offensive) and 57 assists.

Torres, a sophomore forward, was a defensive star for the Wildcats.

“Torres was the glue that held our defense together and the grease that fueled the offense,” Schreiber said. “When John was on his defensive game, the Wildcats ran the floor very well.”

Torres averaged 2.2 steals a game and had 44 for the season. He averaged 6.4 points and shot 47 percent from the floor.

Nemeth, a senior forward, averaged 8.6 points per game and 4.6 rebounds in 21 games this season. He averaged a team-high 23:19 minutes this season.

“Trevin played above his height. He always guarded someone taller than him, but always took the challenge that was given to him and was never was afraid to take the ball to the bucket and draw a foul on the other team,” Central Montcalm coach John Kearney said. “What was amazing was him leading the team in blocked shots and assists. He was the horse for Central Montcalm.”

Central Montcalm finished the year 4-17 overall.

Big Rapids — league champions at 18-0 — led the league with four player honors, two each on the first and second teams. Big Rapids will face Cadillac in the Class B quarterfinals tonight at Ferris State University.


Final standings
1. Big Rapids
2. Newaygo
3. Lakeview
4. Morley Stanwood
4. Reed City
6. Chippewa Hills
7. White Cloud
8. Central Montcalm
9. Hesperia
10. Holton

First team
Conor Bradley    Newaygo
Tim Cairnduff    Morley Stanwood
Shawn Lindsey    Lakeview
Travis McCuaig    Morley Stanwood
Chad Samuels    Reed City
Quinn Tyson        Big Rapids
Dario Williams    Big Rapids

Second team
Nick Baldwin        Big Rapids
Jake Daugherty    Big Rapids
Joe McKeown    Hesperia
Hunter Redman    White Cloud
Nate Shurlow    Lakeview
Jake Tarbell        Chippewa Hills
Kyle Wright        Reed City

Honorable mention
Tylor Ahrens        Morley Stanwood
Brad Epplett        Holton
Peter Lewandowski    Chippewa Hills
Trevin Nemeth    Central Montcalm
Alex Prado        Hesperia
John Torres        Lakeview
Ryan Wills        Reed City
Kyle Wright        Newaygo

Note: Listed in alphabetical order.

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)