CC-Crystal wrestlers returning to state finals

By Chip Burch • Last Updated 10:28 am on Thursday, February 13, 2014

CARSON CITY — Carson City-Crystal’s wrestling team is headed back to Battle Creek.

The Eagles won their own Division 4 team regional tournament Wednesday night by beating Laingsburg 55-21 and St. Louis 39-38.

It’s the second straight trip the Kellogg Arena for the state finals for CC-Crystal (25-2).

“It’s almost the exact same things as last year, exact same matchup,” CC-Crystal coach Kacy Datema said. “We knew it was going to be tight. We knew St. Louis’ lineup, we knew they would make all the right moves. We just had to wrestle out. Fortunately for us we did.”

The Wolfpack, who wrestled the Eagles in the Central Michigan Athletic Conference, only won four matches.

“They had an opportunity to make that tighter,” Datema said. “We came out with some matches in that one. We came ready to wrestle (Wednesday) and that’s what we needed to do.”

The Eagles got the Sharks, who won a controversial 30-27 meet over Kent City. That meet was tied at 27 going into the last match, which went into overtime. St. Louis 130-pounder Cameron Rios was given credit for a take-down, which Kent City coach Chad Kik protested was out of bounds, to get the win.

The Sharks immediately got a pin, only to give it up on a forfeit in the next match.

The two teams traded pins for the next six matches, sending the meet to the 103-pound bout tied at 24.

“At 189 and heavy and 171 I would have liked to see those go six minutes,” Datema said. “But we figured it the way it worked out.”

Despite giving up a major decision at 103 pounds, the Eagles won the next three matches with two pins and a decision to take a 39-28 lead into the last two matches.

“They’re grinders, all those kids down low,” Datema said of his lighter-weight wrestlers. “They are tough kids. They go at it day in and day out and there’s a lot of them down there, so they’re battling every day in practice and on the mat. They’ve got a lot of heart and they’re very scrappy.”

CC-Crystal sealed the win when Shane Wiggins only gave up a major decision to Konnor Holton in the 130-pound match. The Eagles forfeited the final match to make the score look closer than it was.

The Eagles won without 140-pounder Garner Cusack, who has a knee injury. It’s not known whether he will wrestle the rest of the season.

Next up for CC-Crystal is the individual regionals Saturday at New Lothrop.

“We go back to work and get the kids ready,” Datema said. “Then plan for the weekend after that. Hopefully we get a lot of kids through and make a run at the state meet.”

Wrestling results

CC-Crystal 55, Laingsburg 21

135 – Tyler Wittman, L, pinned Shane Wiggins, 3:48.

140 – Brenton DeYoung, CC, def. Kameron Louth 19-6.

145 – Lincoln Burnham, CC, Jake Keenan, 0:37.

152 – Darren Decker, CC, won by forfeit.

160 – Dillen Decker, CC, pinned Kody Carter, 0:58.

171 – Aystin Eggleson, L, def. Ryan Bidwell 12-5.

189 – Frank Smith, CC, pinned Josh Kayne, 0:46.

215 – Kevin Koenig, L, pinned Austin Hopkins, 1:57.

285 – Brad Osterman, CC, pinned Jordan Bird, 1:22.

103 – Ryan Aresinger, CC, def. Carlito Lilly 5-2.

112 – Taylor Barkley, CC, won by forfeit.

119 – Alex Baker, CC, pinned Trevor Conley, 1:18.

125 – Dallas O’Green, CC, pinned Reilly Dorr, 0:29.

130 – Kurt McEwan, L, pinned Cole Specklin, 1:26.

CC-Crystal 39, St. Louis 38

140 – Zach Roiss, SL, pinned Brenton DeYoung, 3:55.

145 – Lincoln Burnham, CC, won by forfeit.

152 – Darren Decker, CC, pinned Joe Eager, 1:37.

160 – Dillen Decker, CC, pinned Emilio Bailey, 0:54.

171 – Jackson Miller, SL, pinned Ryan Bidwell, 2:24.

189 – Clayton Howd, SL, pinned Frank Smith, 1:30.

215 – Austin Hopkins, CC, pinned Hunter WIlson, 0:17.

285 – Mykalo Hermanskyy, SL, pinned Brad Osterman, 1:17.

103 – Marcus Beeson, SL, def. Ryan Aresinger 12-1.

112 – Taylor Barkley, CC, pinned  Adam Zimmerman, 1:52.

119 – Alex Baker, CC, def. Martin Lopez 8-1.

125 – Dallas O’Green, CC, pinned Cameron Rios, 0:21.

130 – Konnor Holton, SL, def. Shane Wiggins 12-4.

135 – Jed Abbott, SL, won by forfeit.

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)