16 running for 5 seats in Edmore; Sheridan and Pierson candidates disqualified

By Elisabeth Waldon • Last Updated 3:12 pm on Thursday, July 24, 2014

Sixteen candidates have filed to run for five open seats on the Edmore Village Council, while multiple potential candidates have been disqualified for running for election in the villages of Sheridan and Pierson.

Those are some of the surprising results now that Tuesday’s filing deadline has passed for anyone wishing to run in the November general election.


Lots of candidates in Edmore

A host of simmering controversies in the village of Edmore — including the unknown status of the village manager’s contract — has inspired a host of people to run for office.

President Chet Guild is running for re-election to another two-year term, but he is being challenged by Rikki Irwin and former Edmore village manager Karl Kluwe for the position.

Three four-year terms on the council have attracted 10 candidates. Incumbents Charles Burr, Karen Deja and Jerry Rasmussen are all running, as are challengers Walter Braman, Bonnie Gray-Davis, Aaron Hadley, Jeffrey Hansen, John Heron, Phillip Kohn and RJ Nye.

Three more candidates are running for a two-year partial term — Jamie Ballard, Danielle Giles and Catherine Naru.

The candidate turnout in Edmore is high this year, but it’s not uncommon for the village. Eight candidates ran for four village council positions in 2010 and 2012.


Disqualifications in Sheridan and Pierson

Two candidates who filed to run for Sheridan Village Council positions will not be included on the general election ballot, as they were both missing required information on their filing affidavits.

Don Nassif filed to run for village president for a two-year term against incumbent President Susan Wyckoff McFarland, while Pete Gehoski filed to run for re-election as a council member. Harold Arrington, Marilyn McDougall and Robert Train are also running for three four-year village council member terms.

However, Gehoski and Nassif both failed to specify on their filing affidavit their township of residence.

According to Montcalm County Clerk Kristen Millard, the missing information was initially overlooked by the Evergreen Township clerk, who didn’t alert Millard to the problem until after 9 p.m. Tuesday.

“There was no time for the candidates to correct them, which is terribly unfortunate,” Millard said.

Two candidates who filed to run for Pierson Village Council positions also were disqualified after failing to fill out multiple items on their filing affidavits.

According to Pierson Township Clerk Robin Gitchel, Victor Grinwis and Gerald Meyer both omitted critical information from their affidavits — including specifying which position they were running for — meaning they will not be included on the general election ballot.

Current Pierson Village President Marshall Dillon is not running for re-election. Alan York is vying for that two-year term.

Billy Dillon is running for one of five Pierson Village Council positions, meaning four seats there currently have no candidates.

Anyone wishing to run as a write-in candidate has until the second Friday prior to the general election to file declaration of intent forms, according to Millard.


Other election races of note

In the village of Howard City, President S. Michael Scott is not running for re-election, so that position will be vied for by challengers Randy Heckman and Kenneth Thomas Sr.

Six people are vying for three four-year terms on the Central Montcalm Public School Board of Education, including Brennan Bowen of Sheridan, Nicole Ciganik of Stanton, Todd Giles of Sheridan, Brandy Ryan of Sheridan, Angie Sattler of Stanton and Nancy Valenta of Sheridan.

Three people are vying for two four-year terms on the Tri County Area Schools Board of Education, including Bill Baker of Howard City, Chad Bice of Sand Lake and Brett Karhoff of Howard City.

Two people are vying for one four-year partial term on the Vestaburg Community Schools Board of Education — Charlotte Davis and Sean Phillips.

The deadline for any candidate to withdraw from the general election is 4 p.m. this Friday.

Visit montcalm.org for a complete listing of general election candidates.

Ionia County general election candidate information wasn’t available Wednesday and won’t be available until after the primary election, according to Ionia County Clerk Tonda Rich, even though Tuesday was the filing deadline.

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)