JUST IN: Ionia County voters elect sheriff, prosecutor, clerk and drain commish

By Emilee Nielsen • Last Updated 1:12 am on Wednesday, August 03, 2016

The results for Tuesday’s primary elections are in and Ionia County voters have spoken in races for sheriff, prosecutor, clerk and drain commissioner.

Ionia County Sheriff Dale Miller came out on top over challenger, Ionia County Deputy Dion Sower. With 5,972 votes tallied, 3,985 votes were cast for Miller, (64.6 percent) and 2,180 were cast for Sower (35.4 percent).

Ionia County Prosecutor Kyle Butler, received a majority of the votes — 3,632 votes (60.73 percent) compared to his opponent Walt Downes, who received 2,340 votes (39.12 percent).

In the race for Ionia County clerk, it was a firm victory for Deputy Clerk Janae Cooper, who took 3,736 votes (64.67 percent). Her opponent, Justin Hengesbach, took 2,027 votes (35.09 percent).

The three-way race for drain commissioner saw incumbent Robert Rose rise to the top with 3,067 votes (54.8 percent). Kevin Beutler came in second with 1,598 votes (28.55 percent),while Jim Newburry received 920 votes (16.44 percent).

About the Author
Follow Us
Rate this Article
VN:R_U [1.9.10_1130]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)